Grand Finals

Grand Finals

The 2021 Grand Final event is being held at the Civic Theatre on May 22nd, in Auckland.

Screening the top 15 films made in 48hours from across the country judged by a national and international panel, along with 3 wildcard selection made by competition founder Ant Timpson..

The event showcases New Zealand's filmmaking talent in one of the most subscribed film competitions in the county.

Show our local filmmakers your support, and get your ticket.

Bar open 6:30pm

Doors open 7:00pm

Show starts 7:30pm

Host: TBC

Tickets available soon.

Finalists and Nominees

Teams: If your team has won an award category in your region/city, your team will be nominated for the national award in the same category. Finalist teams will receive 10 free tickets. Teams who are not finalists but have at least one nomination in an award category will receive 2 free tickets.

Local Judges

We have some accomplished international and local judges this year. We're lucky to have their expertise in judging our top films. Here is the line-up of judges from New Zealand.

Cliff Curtis

Ngati Hauiti and Te Arawa. 

Cliff Curtis is known for NZ Films The Piano, Once Were Warriors, and Jubilee.

In Hollywood, Curtis has played a range of different roles and ethnicities in films. He plays a Colombian in Blow, an Arab in Three Kings and The Insider, a Latino in Training Day and Runaway Jury, and a drug dealer of ambiguous ethnicity in Bringing Out the Dead.

However, he is probably best known for his role as Paikea's father "Porourangi" in Whale Rider.

International Judges

Elijah Wood

Elijah Wood is an American actor and producer. He is best known for his portrayal of Frodo Baggins in the Lord of the Rings film trilogy (2001–2003) and in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012). 

Riding on the back of the astronomical success of the trilogy, he landed several other projects and continued to deliver impressive performances in films, such as Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004), Sin City (2005), Everything Is Illuminated (2005), and Green Street Hooligans (2005).

Subsequently, he was seen in critically acclaimed movies such as I Don't Feel at Home in This World Anymore (2017) and Come to Daddy (2019).

Oren Peli 

Oren Peli is an Israeli-born American director, producer and writer. Oren is widely recognized for his horror movies including Paranormal Activity (2007), Chernobyl Diaries (2012) and Area 51 (2015). 

Adam Egypt Mortimer 

Adam Egypt Mortimer is an LA-based writer and director known for Daniel Isn't Real (2019), Archenemy (2020) and Some Kind of Hate (2015).

Adam has been successful in making innovative supernatural films in the horror thriller vein. With his new film Archenemy, he breaks ground and shifts to a different genre entirely - an action, gritty superhero-style film.

C Robert Cargill 

Based in Texas, United States, C. Robert Cargill is a writer famous for Labyrinth, Doctor Strange (2016), Sinister (2012), Sinister 2 (2015).

In addition to screenwriting, Cargill is a novelist, podcast host, and former film critic known under the pseudonyms Massawyrm (on Ain't It Cool News) and Carlyle (on 

Tara Ansley 

Tara Ansley is the founder of Wanderwell Entertainment & Co-Owner of the iconic horror & sci-fi brands FANGORIA, STARLOG, and GOREZONE.

It was in 2020 that Tara and entrepreneur Abhi Goel acquired Fangoria, an internationally distributed American horror film fan magazine. Fangoria has been in publication since 1979 and the brand is now expanding into the digital space as an iconic genre media destination.

Tara Ansley was the Producer for Home Before Dark (2020), Beast Beast (2020), and Tragedy Girls (2017). She was the Executive Producer for Monsters (2021). 

Helen Jones

UK Producer Helen Jones is the co-founder of Silver Salt Films, a London-based feature film and television production company. The company produces authored stories from alternative perspectives, with a particular focus on female filmmakers with visionary projects.

Produced by Helen, the psychological thriller Censor (2021) was the company’s first feature. The film premiered at the 2021 Sundance Film Festival and opened the festival’s Midnight section. 

Prior to forming Silver Salt Films, Helen’s career was predominantly in international theatrical distribution. 

Alexandra Heller-Nicholas

Alexandra Heller-Nicholas is a film critic from Australia who has written seven books on cult, horror and exploitation cinema including Rape-Revenge Films: A Critical Study (McFarland, 2011) Found Footage Horror Film: Fear and the Appearance of Reality (McFarland, 2014), and books on Dario Argento’s Suspiria in 2016 (for Auteur’s Devil’s Advocates series), Abel Ferrara's Ms. 45 in 2017 (for Columbia University Press's Cultographies series), and Robert Harmon’s The Hitcher for Arrow Books in 2018 (an imprint of Arrow Video). 

She has recently co-edited the book ReFocus: The Films of Elaine May for Edinburgh University Press, and her forthcoming book 1000 Women in Horror has been optioned for a documentary series.

Alexandra is also a programming consultant for Fantastic Fest in Austin, Texas, the largest genre film festival in the United States.

Gillian Wallace Horvat

American Director Gillian Wallace Horvat co-wrote, directed and starred in the mockumentary I Blame Society. In the film, she plays a murderous version of herself who makes a film about being a serial killer. 

An award winning filmmaker, her short Gunplay (2007) was a Haig Manoogian semi finalist and screened at the DGA (Director's Guild of America) in Los Angeles in 2007.

Alison Willmore


Alison Willmore is a film critic for Vulture and New York Magazine. 

Vulture provides a survey of America’s cultural landscape, offering coverage of film, television, art and is the go-to entertainment news site for the culturally obsessed. 

Previously, Alison was a Critic and Culture Writer at BuzzFeed News and TV Editor at indieWIRE.

Mette Marie Kongsved

Mette Marie Kongsved is a notable Danish filmmaker. Most recently, she produced Nine Days (2020), Get Duked! (2019), and Come to Daddy (2019). 

She is also known for producing The Raid 2 (2014), ABCs of Death 2 (2014) and I Don't Feel at Home in This World Anymore (2017).

Kier-La Janisse

Kier-La Janisse is a film writer, director, and programmer.

She wrote and directed the documentary Woodlands Dark and Days Bewitched: A History of Black Horror (2021). 

She’s also the Owner and Artistic Director of Spectacular Optical Publications and founder of The Miskatonic Institute of Horror Studies. She has been a programmer for the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema and Fantastic Fest in Austin, Texas, co-founded Montreal microcinema Blue Sunshine, founded the CineMuerte Horror Film Festival (1999-2005) in Vancouver, and was the Festival Director of Monster Fest in Melbourne, Australia.

Prano Bailey-Bond

Prano Bailey-Bond is a director and writer originally from Wales. 

She was named a 2021 'Director to Watch' by Variety and a Screen International 'Star of Tomorrow' in 2018. 

Prano's debut feature film, CENSOR, starring Niamh Algar and supported by the BFI, Film4 and Ffilm Cymru Wales, opened the Midnight section of the 2021 Sundance Film Festival and went on to be selected for the Berlin Film Festival's Panorama section.

Jennifer Reeder

Jennifer Reeder is an American artist, filmmaker, and screenwriter. 

She directed the psychological thriller Knives and Skin (2019). 

Her short film A Million Miles Away (2014) was nominated for a Tiger Award for Short Films at the International Film Festival Rotterdam and screened at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival in the U.S. Short Narrative Films category.